Important context: This guide explains product quantities. It does not recommend a dose or say that kratom is safe, FDA-approved, or appropriate for treating any condition. FDA states that kratom is not lawfully marketed in the United States as a drug product, dietary supplement, or food additive in conventional food. Package size, capsule fill, price, and availability should be checked against the finished label and live product listing.
The short answer
Kratom powder is usually compared by net weight, commonly shown in grams and sometimes ounces. Capsules are often compared by capsule count, but the count alone does not tell you how much botanical leaf is inside. To compare capsule packages accurately, you also need the approximate fill weight per capsule and confirmation that the stated milligrams refer to leaf material rather than the combined weight of the leaf and capsule shell.
Three rules prevent most confusion:
- Package size is not potency. A 100-gram pouch contains more material than a 28-gram pouch; that does not prove the powder is more concentrated.
- Capsule count is not total leaf weight. Fifty capsules can contain different amounts depending on the verified fill per capsule.
- Ounces and grams must be compared on the same basis. One avoirdupois ounce equals approximately 28.35 grams. A package labeled 28 grams is close to—but not mathematically identical to—one ounce.
The purpose of clear size information is to help customers select the format and quantity they intend to buy, not to imply an effect or tell them how much to use.
Why online kratom sizes become confusing
An ordinary retail page may show several kinds of numbers at once:
- 28 g, 56 g, 100 g, 250 g or another powder weight
- 1 oz, 2 oz, 4 oz or another U.S. customary weight
- 30, 60, 100 or another capsule count
- Approximately 500 mg of leaf powder per capsule
- A measured alkaloid percentage on a lot-level COA
- A product price and possible unit price
Those numbers answer different questions. Net weight tells you how much product is in the package, excluding the packaging itself. Capsule count tells you how many individual capsules are present. Fill weight estimates the botanical material contained in each capsule. An alkaloid result describes a measured chemical concentration for the tested sample. Price describes cost.
Combining them carelessly can create misleading comparisons. For example, “500 mg capsules” can be mistaken for 500 mg of mitragynine or 7‑OH when the intended meaning is approximately 500 mg of plain leaf powder inside each capsule. That distinction must be explicit on every Kiody capsule page.
Grams and milligrams: the basic relationship
The metric relationship is exact:
- 1 gram (g) = 1,000 milligrams (mg)
- 500 mg = 0.5 g
- 250 mg = 0.25 g
- 2,000 mg = 2 g
- 28 g = 28,000 mg
- 100 g = 100,000 mg
This arithmetic does not turn a package weight into dosage guidance. It simply allows like-for-like quantity comparisons.
When a pure-leaf capsule label states approximately 500 mg of leaf fill, that means approximately 0.5 gram of botanical leaf powder per capsule. The word “approximately” matters because filling processes have controlled variation, and the claim should be supported by the finished-product specification.
Ounces and grams: exact conversions versus retail shorthand
The U.S. customary ounce used for solid product weight is the avoirdupois ounce. One ounce equals exactly 28.349523125 grams. Retailers commonly round that to 28.35 grams for calculation or 28 grams in certain labeling and nutrition contexts.
That leads to an important distinction:
- Exact conversion: 1 oz = 28.3495 g
- Common rounded comparison: 1 oz ≈ 28.35 g
- A 28 g package: approximately 0.988 oz, not a full exact ounce
The difference is small, but a product label should state the actual declared quantity rather than switching casually between 28 g and 1 oz as though they were identical.
Useful comparison table
| U.S. customary weight | Exact metric equivalent | Common rounded reference |
|---|---|---|
| 1 oz | 28.3495 g | 28.35 g |
| 2 oz | 56.6990 g | 56.70 g |
| 4 oz | 113.3981 g | 113.40 g |
| 8 oz | 226.7962 g | 226.80 g |
| 16 oz / 1 lb | 453.5924 g | 453.59 g |
This table is for understanding measurement, not for changing Kiody’s declared package sizes. If Kiody sells a 112 g pouch, the dropdown and label should say 112 g. It should not be silently renamed “4 oz,” because 112 g is approximately 3.95 oz rather than an exact four ounces.
Similarly, a 224 g package is approximately 7.90 oz, not an exact eight ounces. A clean store can still show a helpful approximate conversion in secondary text, but the primary selection should match the package label exactly.
Net weight means product—not the pouch, bottle or capsule shell
NIST’s 2026 Uniform Packaging and Labeling Regulation describes net quantity as the amount of the commodity in the package exclusive of wrappers and other material packed with it. Federal food-labeling rules likewise distinguish net weight from packaging.
For a powder pouch, the net weight should describe the powder, not the combined weight of powder plus pouch, zipper, label or oxygen-control component.
Capsules require more careful wording. A bottle can provide:
- The number of capsules
- The approximate leaf-fill weight per capsule
- The total net weight of contents, if verified and declared correctly
How capsule counts translate into approximate leaf quantity
If—and only if—the verified average fill is approximately 500 mg of leaf per capsule, the theoretical leaf quantity can be estimated:
| Capsule count | Approximate leaf fill at 500 mg each |
|---|---|
| 10 capsules | 5 g |
| 20 capsules | 10 g |
| 30 capsules | 15 g |
| 50 capsules | 25 g |
| 60 capsules | 30 g |
| 100 capsules | 50 g |
| 120 capsules | 60 g |
| 200 capsules | 100 g |
This table is a mathematical illustration, not a statement that Kiody offers every count shown. It is not dosage advice. It also assumes exactly 500 mg in every capsule, while the actual total should be supported by the product specification and verified filling records.
The formula is:
Capsule count × leaf fill per capsule in milligrams ÷ 1,000 = approximate grams of leaf
For example, 60 capsules × 500 mg ÷ 1,000 equals approximately 30 grams of leaf material.
If the verified fill is “approximately 500 mg,” the result should remain approximate. The site should not convert a rounded per-capsule statement into a falsely exact total.
Why 56 capsules do not automatically equal a 28-gram powder pouch
Mathematically, 56 capsules filled with exactly 500 mg each would contain 28 grams of leaf. Operationally, three questions still matter:
- Is 500 mg a target, minimum, maximum or verified average?
- What fill-weight variation does the finished-product specification allow?
- Does the comparison exclude the capsule shells correctly?
If those questions are not answered, “56 capsules equals 28 grams” may overstate precision. A better customer-facing statement is: “At an approximate 500 mg leaf fill per capsule, 56 capsules represent about 28 grams of leaf powder. Confirm the finished package for the current count and fill statement.”
That wording informs the customer while preserving the distinction between simple arithmetic and verified package content.
Package size is not alkaloid strength
A larger package contains more total material. It does not necessarily have a higher alkaloid concentration.
Consider two plain-leaf powder pouches from the same finished lot. A 100 g pouch and a 28 g pouch may share the same lot-level alkaloid result because they were packaged from the same controlled batch. The larger pouch has more material, but the concentration measured in the powder does not become higher because the package is larger.
Likewise, a capsule count does not state alkaloid concentration. “500 mg capsule” should describe leaf-fill mass, not 500 mg of mitragynine, total alkaloids or 7‑OH.
Every Kiody product page should keep these fields separate:
- Product form: botanical leaf powder or pure-leaf capsules
- Package quantity: grams or capsule count
- Approximate capsule fill: milligrams of leaf per capsule, when verified
- Lot-level testing: actual analytes, results and units on the matching COA
- Product category: ordinary botanical leaf, not an enhanced 7‑OH product
This structure reduces the risk that customers mistake a quantity number for a potency claim.
Ordinary botanical leaf versus extracts and enhanced 7‑OH
Unit comparisons only work when the products are the same type.
One gram of plain botanical leaf powder is not interchangeable with one gram of extract. Extracts concentrate selected constituents relative to starting material and require their own composition, ingredient and testing information. A capsule filled with ordinary leaf powder is also different from a capsule containing extract.
Enhanced 7‑OH products are a separate category again. FDA’s July 29, 2025 consumer update distinguishes trace amounts of 7‑OH naturally present in kratom from products containing added or enhanced 7‑OH and recommends that consumers avoid those products.
A quantity dropdown should never group these forms as if “28 g powder,” “60 capsules,” and “15 mg 7‑OH” were three sizes of the same item. They describe different products and different measurement bases. Kiody’s ordinary leaf pages should remain separate from extracts and from any enhanced or synthetic derivative category.
Weight, volume and count are not interchangeable
Powder is normally sold by weight. Liquid products are normally described by volume. Capsules can be described by count and supported fill weight.
Common symbols include:
- g: gram, a unit of mass
- mg: milligram, one-thousandth of a gram
- kg: kilogram, 1,000 grams
- oz: ounce by weight when used with “Net Wt.” for a solid product
- fl oz: fluid ounce, a unit of volume
- mL: milliliter, a unit of volume
- count: number of units such as capsules
An ounce by weight is not a fluid ounce. A 1 oz powder package refers to mass. A 1 fl oz bottle refers to volume. The two cannot be converted without knowing the material’s density.
Kiody’s powder, capsule, shot, tincture and beverage pages should use the unit appropriate to the actual product. “Oz” and “fl oz” should not be mixed.
Net quantity versus serving size
Net quantity tells the customer how much product is in the container. A serving statement attempts to define an amount associated with label information or directions. They are not the same.
This Kiody article does not create a kratom serving size or use recommendation. There is no universal dose established by these package conversions, and a mathematical division of package weight does not become medically appropriate guidance.
For example, a 100 g pouch is simply a 100 g package. Dividing it into 100 one-gram portions would be arithmetic—not a recommendation that one gram is a serving. The same applies to capsules: one capsule is a physical unit, but that does not automatically establish an appropriate serving for every person.
The site should avoid phrases such as “perfect dose,” “ideal serving,” “beginner amount” or “take X capsules” unless the wording has undergone appropriate scientific, legal and safety review. Quantity education can be complete without directing consumption.
How to compare price fairly
Customers may want to compare the price of powder and capsules. The comparison should remain transparent.
Powder price per gram
The arithmetic is:
Package price ÷ net grams = price per gram
A 100 g pouch priced at an example amount of $25 would equal $0.25 per gram. That is an illustration only and does not state Kiody’s current price.
Capsule price per capsule
The arithmetic is:
Package price ÷ capsule count = price per capsule
Capsule price per approximate gram of leaf
If the leaf fill is verified, a deeper comparison is:
Package price ÷ approximate total grams of leaf = approximate price per gram of leaf
This result should remain approximate when the per-capsule fill is approximate.
Capsules may cost more per gram than loose powder because filling, shells, counting and packaging add material and labor. That does not mean capsules are stronger or higher quality. It reflects format and production differences.
What customers should verify before ordering
Use this quick checklist:
- Is the product ordinary botanical leaf powder or pure-leaf capsules?
- Is the selected quantity shown in grams, ounces or count?
- If ounces and grams are both shown, are they clearly identified as exact or approximate?
- For capsules, is the approximate leaf fill per capsule stated?
- Does the statement refer to leaf powder rather than an alkaloid amount?
- Does the image match the selected product form and size?
- Does the price update to the chosen variation?
- Is availability current rather than marked “coming soon” incorrectly?
- Can the package lot be matched to a COA?
- Are ordinary leaf products separated from extracts and enhanced 7‑OH?
- Is the destination eligible for shipment under current rules?
- Is there a customer-support path if the received package differs from the order?
Common mistakes to avoid
Calling 28 grams exactly one ounce
Twenty-eight grams is close to one ounce, but the exact ounce is approximately 28.3495 grams. Use the declared package weight as the primary quantity.
Treating 500 mg as an alkaloid claim
On a pure-leaf capsule page, approximately 500 mg should describe the botanical leaf fill—not mitragynine, 7‑OH or total alkaloids. Put “leaf powder per capsule” directly beside the number.
Including the capsule shell in the leaf-fill statement
If the claim is about leaf fill, the documented value should exclude the shell. The ingredient list should identify the shell material accurately.
Showing a count without fill information
A bottle of 60 capsules is not comparable with another 60-count bottle unless the fill and product form are known.
Using package size to imply strength
“Bigger,” “bulk” or “value size” may describe quantity. It should not imply that the product has a stronger chemical concentration.
Using a lab percentage as a retail size
An alkaloid percentage is a concentration measurement, not a package quantity. Keep laboratory results in the COA area and net weight in the purchase selector.
Letting dropdowns and photos disagree
Variation selections should update the title, image, price, SKU, quantity, stock status and cart line accurately. A mismatch damages trust and can lead to fulfillment errors.
Frequently asked questions
How many grams are in one ounce?
One avoirdupois ounce equals exactly 28.349523125 grams. For ordinary comparison, that is approximately 28.35 grams.
Is a 28-gram bag a one-ounce bag?
It is close, but it is not mathematically equal. A 28 g bag is approximately 0.988 oz. The product should be sold and described using its actual declared net weight.
What does 500 mg per capsule mean?
If a pure-leaf capsule label states approximately 500 mg of botanical leaf powder per capsule, that statement refers to fill mass—not 500 mg of mitragynine, 7‑OH, or extract. The seller should verify the finished label and fill specification before using the claim.
How many 500 mg capsules equal one gram of leaf?
Mathematically, two capsules filled with exactly 500 mg each contain one gram of leaf. If 500 mg is an approximate fill, the total is also approximate. This is quantity arithmetic, not dosage advice.
Do 100 capsules contain 100 grams?
No. At approximately 500 mg of leaf per capsule, 100 capsules would contain about 50 grams of leaf powder, excluding the shell.
Does a bigger package mean stronger kratom?
No. Package size describes quantity. Alkaloid concentration is a separate lot-level measurement.
Are capsules extracts?
Not necessarily. A seller should identify whether a capsule contains botanical leaf powder, extract, enhanced material, or another form. A seller should state clearly if a capsule contains extract or enhanced material.
Are fluid ounces and ounces the same?
No. Fluid ounces measure volume; ounces used with net weight measure mass. They cannot be treated as interchangeable.
Why might a capsule bottle cost more per gram than powder?
Capsule shells, filling, counting and packaging add production steps and materials. Price differences do not prove potency or quality.
Can I compare two products using capsule count alone?
No. Confirm the product form and approximate fill per capsule. A 60-count bottle of 500 mg leaf capsules is different from a 60-count bottle with another fill or an extract.
Should the product page show grams and ounces?
It can show both when the conversion is accurate and clearly marked. The primary quantity should match the package label. Approximate conversions should not be displayed as exact.
Does this guide tell me how much kratom to take?
No. It explains package measurements only. It does not provide dosage or medical advice.
The bottom line
Clear quantity information is a basic trust signal.
Kiody’s powder pages should state actual net grams. Capsule pages should state the actual count and a verified approximate leaf fill per capsule. Ounce conversions should be accurate, product images should follow the selected variation, and every number should explain whether it describes weight, volume, count or laboratory concentration.
When those details are separated cleanly, customers can choose the format and package size they intend to purchase without mistaking quantity for potency or marketing language for measurement.
Primary and authoritative sources
- National Institute of Standards and Technology, NIST Handbook 130—2026, Uniform Laws and Regulations in the Areas of Legal Metrology and Fuel Quality. Current 2026 model requirements and measurement guidance for packaged commodities.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology, Packaging and Labeling. Overview of the Uniform Packaging and Labeling Regulation and metric declarations.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR § 101.7—Declaration of Net Quantity of Contents, current through August 28, 2026. Weight, fluid measure and count labeling terminology. Cited as a labeling-literacy reference, not as a claim that FDA accepts kratom as food.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Net Quantity of Contents, April 2005, current page reviewed August 28, 2026. Weight, measure, count and dual-unit examples. Used as a benchmark, not as acceptance of kratom as a lawful dietary supplement.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Guidelines for Determining Metric Equivalents of Household Measures, November 10, 2017. Includes the nutrition-labeling convention that one ounce by weight is represented as 28 grams for that purpose.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FDA and Kratom, updated December 2, 2025. FDA’s current federal position and safety warnings.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Products Containing 7‑OH Can Cause Serious Harm, July 29, 2025. Distinguishes trace naturally occurring 7‑OH from products containing added or enhanced 7‑OH.
- Federal Trade Commission, Advertising FAQs: A Guide for Small Business. Objective product claims must be truthful and substantiated.
